Shaping the Educational Programmes


Our setting follows and implements the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).  The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.  Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.


Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. 
These are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional


These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy
development and future learning. 

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.



For more information on the EYFS you can visit:




Focus: Communication & Language / Literacy


Letters and Sounds: Principles and Practice of High Quality Phonics

Our setting delivers the Letters and Sounds programme.  The programme helps children to develop skills to become competent readers and writers. Practitioners teach children Phase One of the
Letters and Sounds programme and when your child moves on to primary school they will work though Phases Two to Six throughout their reception year.


For more information on Letters and Sounds please click on the link below:




Every Child A Talker (ECAT)

To complement the delivery of the Letters and Sounds programme our setting is working hard to embed the principles of the ECAT programme, which essentially promotes the development of children’s’ speech, language and communication.


For more information on ECAT please click on the link below:


Firm Foundations

We have invested into the Firm Foundations syllabus, which is aimed at promoting children’s literacy skills. Children are given home-activity packs, which are to be completed at home with parents and carers.


Print Print | Sitemap
© Atherton Pre-School Daycare